RSS Feed

Cookies Crumble

Posted on

Friends, this is supposed to be a horror story, written exclusively for my daughter ‘Somkritya’ but my husband found it very funny and started laughing, so I’m sharing it with you. This is my first attempt to write a story.

                       Cookies Crumble

She was never afraid of ghosts. In fact, all the ghosts, demons, witches, gnomes, angels and fairies were her friends. They lived under her bed, around her, in fact in every corner of her house. She played with them, made fun of them and they were never ever angry with her, in fact joined her in fun.

Today was a tiresome day. House keeper didn’t come. There was power cut for half of the day. There was water problem in her area. To brighten her mood, she tried to make cookies. In spite of doing every step correctly, cookies crumbled. She was very disappointed. Feeling very tired, she went to bed. Suddenly she remembered, she has asked her mother to write a ghost story for her. She started laughing. Her mother could not write a story more over she never believed in ghost. So it was out of her imagination, but to tease her she has asked her to write for her. Still laughing she switched off the light and rolled on the bed.

Suddenly there was light in the room, she saw her mother was sitting on the easy chair. She was looking intently at her. She inquired, when did you come? You didn’t tell me you were coming? Mother just smiled, and then started laughing shrilly. It was very eerie laugh. Her mother’s face became distorted and she started crumbling just like cookies.

She woke up with a start. Room was dark. Her alarm clock was ringing frenziedly. She switched off the clock, switched on the light. Her clothes were wet with her sweat. She laughed at her dream, and then she noticed, there was a small heap of cookies on the easy chair.

 

Cartoon by SOMKRITYA

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

21 responses »

  1. OMG!!!!where is my Mom!!
    Noooo
    lol i mean yikes
    loved loved loved the story Ma
    Thank you so much

    Like

    Reply
  2. Lovely Story! not a scary but the one which reflect how deeply you love your daughter…..and this story is a token of love for daughter. Though I like the story Indira Ji!

    Like

    Reply
  3. amusing and delightful even if it was humorously scary!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Loved it! There was a touch of scary but was funny also… a good combination I think, it’s always better to laugh!🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Okay! That’s it – I’m staying away from cookies and whiskey!!! Wait a minute – what a scary thought – I’m staying away from cookies. Phew!

    Good one, and okay – it did bring a chuckle – sorry😦

    Perhaps because you already made me smile when you mentioned hubby laughing.

    All good wishes,
    Eric🙂
    P/s Now, I know where Soma gets her inspiration from – and I mean this in a nice way🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • You don’t have to be sorry, actually I can’t tell even a simple story, let alone a ghost, crime or horror. It was just for fun and to take a challenge from please my daughter. To make someone laugh is also difficult. So i’m happy. Thanks for reading it and for your kind comment.

      Like

      Reply
  6. Quite plausible. Can well believe ….. how it would hurt a Mom.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Dear Indira,
    This was a very fun story, with just enough ‘creepy’ in it to work. You could tell that to any kid–with a straight face of course–and when you got to the strange appearance of the mother, you would give that child a delicious chill down her spine, and then a good laugh. (I’m glad your husband enjoyed it too!)

    Like

    Reply
  8. Funny, yet I think it fits into the genre of a horror story.
    Wonderful job, Indira,
    Scott

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

