RSS Feed

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS- 29 November 2013- Pauper’s Delight

Posted on

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/11/27/29-november-2013/

Writing a story in 100 words is very difficult for me but   its a very good exercise for brain. After editing a lot it comes to 107 words. I don’t know how it stands.  I would love criticism of any kind friends.

 

Copyright - Ted Strutz

Copyright – Ted Strutz

 

 

Pauper’s Delight

It was that kind of posh restaurant on water ,which,  a pauper like me can’t even  dream of entering it.

Then a board with  ‘ Pauper’s delight – Free food ‘  written on it caught my attention.   Perhaps a   tycoon   has opened it  to book a seat in the heaven , ‘ why deprive him of that’  I  thought  and sat in the corner seat near  the railing enjoying the  sea view.

Waiter  came and kept some delicious dishes and a bell written ‘call me ‘ on it in front of me.

After savoring the food I rang the bell. Suddenly  a shark raised its head near me .

‘ We call him Pauper lovingly’ ‘ the waiter  said.

‘ Nothing comes for free man ! ‘ was my last thought .

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

21 responses »

  1. Ha! I definitely did not see that coming…

    Like

    Reply
  2. uh-oh, that was definitely a surprise ending. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. I see they fatten the shark’s meals up before despatching them. Good idea!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Dear Indira,

    Loved this humorous tale. I loved the line “Perhaps a tycoon has opened it to book a seat in the heaven…”
    On a grammatical note I think the “waiter brought” rather than the “waiter kept” makes more sense. Aside from that small issue, A Pauper’s Delight was this reader’s delight.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    Reply
  5. Very funny! You should removed the last “it” in the first sentence.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Wah. A great read.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Very clever. Well done.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Clever tale… a fish tail it seems…

    Like

    Reply
  9. Hi Indira,I was moving along quietly,all of a sudden I bumped into your blog. I stopped and read your 107 word story. It is beautiful.I’ll make a habit of reading your blogs.
    I am Ranu,my blog is, http://sabethville.wordpress.com . I am originally from Bangldesh.I live in Canada.

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Ranu ! So nice of you to visit my blog and taking time out to comment on it. I’m learning dear so there may be few mistakes. You are welcome to my blog. I hope it brings a smile on your face. Love and hugs.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Dear Indira,

    What a delightful and funny story. Very well done. Still chuckling here.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

    Reply
  11. Ha!ha!Loved the humour-the last line is so true in life-great tale Indira:-)

    Like

    Reply
  12. Enjoyable story and laughable idea! I didn’t see it coming – I love that!
    Scott

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

Haiku Horizons

A Haiku prompt/meme site

A learning poet

Walking. Crawling. Growing

Insanity Abolished!

Restored! Physically, Mentally, Spiritually.

The Diary Of A Muslim Girl

Dare ◦ To ◦ Live ◦ Your ◦ Legacy

KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

Rural doctor, mom, writes poems, dance, sing.

Avdhesh Dadhich

Waiting for the rainbow in the hot desert

bhavika24

I do not TRUST, I BELIEVE. 😄

Uniquesus

Attempts at creative writing

Brusque

Biography Of A Lunatic

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Empty Nest, Full Life

Formerly: PostDepartumDepression Thoughts about the "post Mommy" years of life

Millennial Millions

Everything MIillenial

Creative State of Mind

A Blog by Tricia Drammeh

A Thought, A Word and An Eternal Bliss!

A thought,here and there.Words that breath life into them.So born are poems,stories,random musings-An eternal bliss!

Vaibhaw verma, Poet IIT Delhi

मिट्टी का तन, मस्ती का मन,क्षण भर जीवन मेरा परिचय

somkritya

"in nonsense is strength"

Der Weg ist das Ziel

Via destinatum est .The journey is the destination .

