RSS Feed

Friday Fictioneers- Biography of a film studio

Posted on

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/4-april-2014/

 

Studio Lights from Kent

Fiction

word count- 104

 

Biography of a film studio

 

I am an abandoned film studio.

Once upon a time I was well-known and full of activities. Directors on high chairs once shouted through their megaphone — Silence, Camera, Rolling and Action!

Today as Indian film industry is celebrating its 100th anniversary, I, which was once the launching pad for many superstars and legends is thirsting for a little recognition and remembrance.

No one comes here; in fact nobody even remembers that I was a studio that once upon a time was a major part of this industry.

Today I am nothing but the ruins of my glorious past.

 

Heritage Studios of Mumbai Some of the biggest studios of the 1920s and 1930s now lie in ruins.)

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

18 responses »

  1. This post reminded me of the freshness we still feel while watching the old movies. Even though there is a technical advantage for the current generation movies, they really do lack that freshness. NIcely written post for a prompt. Have a nice weekend. God bless.🙂

    – Rahul

    Like

    Reply
  2. Dear Indira,

    Beautifully written and poignant. A building’s POV doesn’t always work for me, but in this case it works quite well.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Rochelle, your encouraging comments mean so much to me. I was worried that it will work or not. Shalom.

      On Sat, Apr 5, 2014 at 4:47 PM, Indira's Blog wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Wonderful take on the prompt.
    Reminds me of an old studio I once visited in Andheri. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  4. Bittersweet take on the prompt—and I mean that in a good way. If buildings could talk, I’m sure these would be but one of the many stories they could tell. Nice work!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Hala. If buildings could talk! Yes there must be many stories hidden in their heart. Thanks for you visit.

      On Sun, Apr 6, 2014 at 12:46 AM, Indira's Blog wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  5. It was good to see a slightly different take on the prompt. Well done.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Good job having the abandoned stage tell the story from it’s point of view. Great! Nan🙂

    Like

    Reply
  7. The sadness of a building. Great. What life it must have seen. Liked it.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Your story is one answer to the question/thought of “If buildings could talk…” This worked well.

    janet

    Like

    Reply
  9. Good story and well written. This was refreshing, having a building remember its past. Very creative and it worked.🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

