RSS Feed

Writing 101, Day Four: Loss of a friend( series one)

Posted on

Writing 101, Day Four: The Serial Killer

Today, write about a loss. The twist: make this the first post in a three-post series.

 

The loss of a friend is like that of a limb; time may heal the anguish of the wound, but the loss cannot be repaired.

Robert Southey

 

Loss Of A Friend

Talking about loss! Everybody knows how it feels if you lose a friend

He was my friend since I was eight years old.

I was in class four. I walked to my school daily with my friends.There was a toy shop on my way to school.

He was lying there at bottom of the showcase facing the road, bright-eyed,there was a smile on his face.

I asked the shopkeeper how much it costs.

He said one rupee.

One Rupee? Means, twelve annas or sixty-four paisa?

In 1955 it was a lot of money. I used to get one paisa daily as my pocket-money. I started saving money and when  I saved one rupee I went to that shop. Looked for that toy and bought it.

After coming from school telling  everything to him became a habit. He listened attentively.

I can swear it smiled at funny incidents and once it has tears in his eyes when I told him how my craft teacher blamed me of cheating.

What happened that for craft test our class was asked to make clay fruits. I was quite good at that. But unfortunately that day my clay was too soft. I made lady finger and mango and colored it. It was looking beautiful.

One external teacher was there to examine it. When she took lady finger in her hand and saw that backside  has flattened a little. She became angry and accused me of cheating saying that I am too clever and made only front side well. I explained but she was adamant, my class teacher knew that I was an obedient, honest and hard-working student, she should have explained but to my surprise she kept mum.

I was very dejected and in tears.

So! Where I was?

Yes, my friend has tears in his eyes.

I told my elder sisters and sister-in-law but no one believed me.

They said I always imagine funny things.

Well! Why should I care whether one believes it or not I thought. Me and my friend were too happy with each other’s company.

Once  I had to go out of station with my mother. I told my sister-in-law to look after it.

After 15 days when we came back. My room was in a bad shape. Due to heavy rains some part of  the roof caved in and that too on belongings. Sister-in-law saved whatever she could not find my friend.

It was simply not there. Not even in broken or distorted condition.

I am sure not seeing me  for 15 days made it unhappy as it was the first time I have left it alone, so it deserted me.

I could not forget it for a long time. The loss was just too much to bear.

Still in a corner of my heart there was a faint hope of getting it back.

Secretly I kept the search on.

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Writing 101, Day Thirteen: Serial Killer II/ Soul Mate | Indira's Blog

I would love to hear from you

