RSS Feed

Writing 101, Day Eleven: Size Matters

Posted on

Writing 101, Day Eleven: Size Matters

Today, tell us about the home you lived in when you were twelve. For your twist, pay attention to — and vary — your sentence lengths.

 

My House

When I was twelve, I was in Jabalpur city. It is in Madhya Pradesh, India.

Jabalpur is known for its picturesque marble rock formations (Bhedaghat) on the banks of the river Narmada.

As I can recall, our house was a duplex, sandwiched between two duplex houses. I was born here and lived here up to 20.

A big veranda welcomed us before getting inside the house.

There was a drawing room, bedroom, kitchen cum dining space bathroom, storeroom etc. on the ground floor and one room and a terrace upstairs.

It was a very cozy, comfortable and friendly house with a big courtyard next to the kitchen.

Courtyard was our playground, meeting place and a venue for our doll’s marriage ceremony.

It was sufficient for the 7 persons living in it.

My parents and we three sister occupied the ground floor and my uncle and brother occupied upstairs room.

It was okay for them till they got married. There was just five years difference between them.

I had spent best years of my life with my loving, caring family.

There were differences, arguments small fighting between us but we forgot everything quickly and again at our humorous best.

I’m getting carried away by nostalgia.

It’s almost fifty five years, my lovely neighborhood, friends, relatives, my loving uncle, all childhood memories are storming my mind.

My eyes are becoming misty. It is difficult to type more.

I’ll write other details  some other time.

 

Waterfall at Bhedaghat, Jabalpur.( Narmada River)

 

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

8 responses »

  1. Hi,

    You and I are about the same age (I just turned 65 in May), and I know what you mean about “getting carried away by nostalgia”–I’ve done that more than once doing these writing assignments.

    Anyway, your post (and your blog) is lovely. I enjoyed reading about your childhood home, especially as it was so different from mine. ‘

    Carol

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks dear. It was totally different from even now where I am living. No electricity up to twelve years. Without much comforts. Still I love it because people there made living wonderful. Thanks for reading and sharing your views with me. I appreciate it very much.

      Like

      Reply
  2. those courtyards have vanished from modern houses mostly. our courtyards too were filled with great memories🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

