RSS Feed

Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Posted on

Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on

the Horizon– Today, write a  with roots in a real-world

conversation. For a twist, include foreshadowing.

 

I like to listen. I have learned a great deal from listening carefully. Most people never listen.

– Ernest Hemingway

 

I’m one of those people who never listen. Actually I’m so engrossed in my thoughts that I have no time listening to  others conversations.

It’s a biggest drawback for one who aspires to be a writer.

Now I’m at a total loss as I can’t recall any conversation even between my family members let alone of strangers. Now I understand  why I’m so poor in writing.

But one conversation which I heard accidentally left a deep mark on my mind.

It so happened that I went to my sister’s house which was just opposite to my house to give her some pudding which I had made for the first time.

My brother-in-law and my sister were having argument about something. 

B-I-L- ‘……….You know it’s my right.’

Sis-‘ Really! Do you know what your duties are? Duties always come before rights.’

Before he could reply they noticed me and welcomed me forgetting about their argument.

My sister’s words stayed with me. We always talk about our rights but how many remember about their duties towards family, friends, neighbors, city or country. My sister died in an accident when she was 43 but she gave me a lesson for a lifetime.

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

6 responses »

  1. simple but honest. And I disagree about your statement that you are poor at writing

    Like

    Reply
  2. I have always been a good listener, barring when teachers lectured or someone went on and on some topic that bored me to death.🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

