RSS Feed

Writing 101, Day Fourteen- To Whom It May Concern-

Posted on

Writing 101, Day Fourteen: To Whom It May Concern

 

My dear Soma,

I have already written in my previous letter that I have joined Writing 101 daily post assignments. We are given one assignment daily to write s a post on it.

Today’s assignment say “Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. Write the post in the form of a letter.”

The word jumped off the pages of ‘ The Oath of Vayuputras” by ‘Amish Tripathi’ was‘ Bird Courier’. 

 

It was a bit tough for me so I wanted to change it but visualized you saying ‘ No cheating Mai”

So I’m sticking to this word. After Google searching I came up with some facts which I would like to share with you.

As I’m writing you this letter, is it not surprising how far we have come from the time when messages were sent, apart from other modes, by bird’s couriers? Mostly pigeons, due to their homing ability or the tendency to fly straight home from wherever they may be, speed and altitude often used as a method of communication and military messengers.

In Mauryan period Emperor Chandragupta and Emperor Asoka used to keep contact with their provincial governors with the help of pigeons.

The mughals also used them as their messengers.

Do you know that the art of training the bird came from Persians?

There are many stories about pigeons playing an important role in war.

The most interesting of them is of A Blue Check hen named Cher Ami. It was awarded the French “Croix de Guerre with Palm” for its heroic service of delivering twelve important messages during the Battle of Verdun. Most surprising is the story about its final mission in October 1918, it delivered the message though it was shot through the breast. The crucial message which was hanging from a ligament of her shattered leg, saved about 200 US soldiers of the 77th Infantry Division’s” Lost Battalion”.

I hope you will like and enjoy my little research.

Love and Hugs. Mai.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

5 responses »

  1. Hello Indira!
    I warmly greet you and invite you to watch a new photo album on my blog. Have a nice weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  2. That’s such a sweet letter, Indira. How’s The Oath of Vayuputra by the way? I read the first two books and loved. I’m yet to buy the last one of the trilogy.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Archita. Third one is superb.I loved it. I’m rereading all three books.

      On Sat, Jun 21, 2014 at 12:19 AM, Indira's Blog wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  3. Lovely letter, Indira! Thanks for sharing and I can see how “bird courier” would be a little tough…I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend and I miss seeing your daughter’s posts, too! xx

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

