RSS Feed

Daily Prompt- Uncanned Laughter- Carol or Parole

Posted on

Daily Prompt- Uncanned Laughter–  A misused word, a misremembered song lyric, a cream pie that just happened to be there: tell us about a time you (or someone else) said or did something unintentionally funny.

 

Its an old, at least 43 years old faux pass but I still feel ashamed of it, a word I misused in my haste to show my knowledge.

It so happened 43 years ago my newly wed elder sister came to visit mother and me with his christian husband on the christmas eve afternoon. After chatting for sometime they got up to go but my mother insisted them to go after dinner.

My bro-in-law declined saying he has to go with friends at night for…

Before he could finish, to show how much I know of their culture as I had studies at missionary school, I chirped in

‘Mother let them go they have to go for PAROLE’

Full marks to my BIL, real gentleman he is, very quietly without even smiling, he corrected ‘ carol, indu, carol.’

With great difficulty my sister suppressed her smile. I still feel  embarrassed when I remember this.

Afterward we all had a good laugh on that.

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

2 responses »

  1. 🙂 loving memories, thats all what keeps us motivated life long…

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

