RSS Feed

Daily Prompt- The Mirror Crack’d

Posted on

Daily Prompt- The Mirror Crack’d

You wake up one morning to a world without mirrors. How does your life — from your everyday routines to your perception of yourself — change?

(Thanks for suggesting this thought-provoking prompt, Chocolate Eyes!)

Mirror is my best friend.

It has taught me many things.

The first time I saw my face in the mirror, I did not believe it was me.

Didn’t mother say that I was pretty?

But mirror did not show a pretty face.

Was mother lying? I asked her.

She said I was most pretty for her.

Oh! That! Every mother thinks that her child is prettiest of all.

Then I started trying to make myself beautiful with different hairstyles, make up and look at the mirror hoping now it will accept me as pretty.

Mirror never lies but it taught that first I have to accept myself then it will accept me.

Slowly it became my friend.

It reflected an honest, loving caring face which may not be beautiful but acceptable to all my near and dear ones.

It taught me that the best quality a face possesses when one can look in the mirror without feeling any guilt and without  envy, anger and hatred toward others.

My daily routine ,after waking up in the morning,is thanking God then go to mirror to notice how dishevelled I’m looking and to tidy up myself. It’s not important though but  has become a habit which is very difficult to get rid off.

If I wake up one morning to find the world without mirror, after cribbing for sometime I will definitely find some replacement.

But I will miss my best friend very much.

 

http://joatmon14.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/no-mirrors-this-could-be-bad/

I never thought we would miss so much without mirrors until I read joatmons post.

Funny Picture Of Cat Looking In Mirror Mobile Wallpaper

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

6 responses »

  1. Good one..🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. AnElephant reflects on your wise words.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I can really relate to this piece…… I agree that sometimes when we look in the mirror we are looking to see who we are inside, searching inside ourselves to find the beauty that matters more than just vanity.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

