RSS Feed

Writing 101,Day 14- Recreat a single day

Posted on

Thirty years ago a Monday night changed my perspective about life completely.

I was with my two children, daughter 9 years old and son 7 years. My husband was out of station.

On Friday I had met with a friend who promised to visit my house on Monday.

On Saturday I got the news that she was burned to death while preparing dinner for her family.

It was third case of death by burning in my life. My school friend then my sister-in-law and now this.

On Monday morning I woke up with a start. She was supposed to come today. Whole day I was thinking of her. I did all chores as if in a daze.

I was unable to sleep at night. Frankly, I was a bit scared. What if her soul comes?

I have always been scared of ghosts and spirits.

Children were fast asleep. Oblivious of my condition.I was perspiring profusely. I was thirsty but not able to get up and drink water.

I think when we reach the breaking point our conscious takes over and start reasoning.

I thought why I’m afraid of her. She was my friend. I loved her. She will do no harm to me.

I gathered courage, got up and went to balcony. Sat there in a chair fully, prepared to welcome her soul.

Slowly I was becoming calm. I dozed off. Night passed quietly. Nothing happened.

The morning came with a new perspective. I was relieved of my fear of darkness and ghosts.

 Do ghost, witches,  demons, angels and

Spirits really exist

Or, are they figment of imagination

Your faith is their strength

The reason for their existence

If you believe

They are everywhere

If you don’t

They are nowhere

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

12 responses »

  1. How awful! I know it has been years, but I am sorry for the loss of your friend.
    I also wonder about the existence of spirits, but whether they exist or not, I agree that your faith is their strength. Such insightful words.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Certain experiences puts things into perspective! Dont they?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. If you open up your perspective that they are real, they will come to you because they can sense your fear or your energy. But if you ignore them, they become weak and would rather stay away.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Awesome post, Indira.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Sometimes, it feels good to believe that the spirits of people who loved us are around, to support us, guide us!
    In any case, God is always there and we can’t be harmed as long as our faith is strong…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Sad story !! don’t know exactly how to express

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

