RSS Feed

Writing 101, Day 12: Critique a piece of work

Posted on

Writing 101, Day 12: Critique a piece of work

‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee.’ – “People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.” 

Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

 'Shoot all the blue jays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird."

“Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” ― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

I received this book recently as a present from my daughter.

And I’m really thankful to her for introducing me to a fine piece of writing. It is the best book I have read so far.

I know I’m late and almost everyone might have read it.

Frankly my first reaction after going through 2/3 pages was not good. I found it a little boring and when I reached the last pages, I was still unclear about few things but the end completely changed my view.I started reading it again slowly and this time I was completely bowled over by the Finesse of this book.

I don’t know how to write a book review so please bear with me.

She writes with all the innocence of an 8 years old child Jem . About her love for her family, sympathy for her neighbours and the people of her locality and racism other prejudices found in normal local people and also about how human nature works  .

Harper Lee’s abilities to write are of very higher level.

Her description of locality, their inhabitants are so vivid, I could visualize perfectly.

In fact In fact I was so immersed in the narrators character that I was living the

whole story. I could visualize and relate with the housewives afternoon gathering

for tea and gossiping.

She has depicted the look of a small Alabama town in 1935 so well, it looks like a

painting easy enough to grasp the feel of that time.

She had depicted very well first the childhood innocence of Jem  love and care of

Her father in whom arms she found the comfort and his advice ,

 “You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” Harper Lee,

 , concern and care of a brother and his  plays and fights with his sister Jem and their

common friend. How Jem her brother and friend were curious and tried every trick

to get a look at the most talked about character Boo of that famous haunted Radly house.

She describes how their heart was broken by the racism and and  fights for difference of opinion in their so called peace loving locality.

 the racism ‘ “Scout,” said Atticus, “nigger-lover is just one of those terms that don’t mean anything—like snot-nose. It’s hard to explain—ignorant, trashy people use it when they think somebody’s favoring Negroes over and above themselves. It’s slipped into usage with some people like ourselves, when they want a common, ugly term to label somebody.”- Harper lee

Telling much will spoil the suspense of the book.

In my opinion this is a what we call a perfect, wonderful and  captivating book and a must read for all.

I’m going to read it for a third time as every time I discover something new.

 

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

5 responses »

  1. have not read the book, seen the movie and it was ONE movie!

    Like

    Reply
  2. It has a sequel now..Go set a watchman..has anyone read it?

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

