RSS Feed

Squirrel Appreciation Day

Posted on

Squirrel Appreciation Day by Piglove

APPRECIATING SQUIRRELS by Shilpa

 

Jan 21st is the squirrel appreciation day, I didn’t know that. Everyone loves them.

Squirrels come to my balcony but never allow me to take  their photograph, they are very fast. They look very cute when eating a nut.

When I was in Jabalpur probably 30 years ago, we had a big courtyard with many trees. Guava, Mango, Jamun , Neem, Peeple etc. There were many birds and squirrels, monkeys used to com.There were a bird’s nest on the Jamun tree. Once a snake climbed the tree to eat eggs, the bird was screeching and flying around the tree. Suddenly a squirrel came, climbed the tree, went near to snake trying to divert it’s attention, chittering persistently and flecking its tail whenever the snake tried to strike it , it quickly ran away to come again and poke it . It went on for some time until desperate snake went away. My daughter, myself , my housemaid and her three children all witnessed this great act of friendship/kindness( I don’t know what to say). I had no camera then otherwise I would have captured a great shot of a life time.

 

Image4014

pencilsketch by Indira “The Squirrel”

SQUIRRELS
Anonymous

Whisky, frisky,
Hippity hop;
Up he goes
To the tree top!

Whirly, twirly,
Round and round,
Down he scampers
To the ground.

Furly, curly
What a tail!
Tall as a feather
Broad as a sail!

Where's his supper?
In the shell,
Snappity, crackity,
Out it fell.

 

(Dear poet, if it’s your  copy write poem please tell me I’ll remove it. I found it on http://support.scrapbook.com/ )

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

18 responses »

  1. dis Squirrell likes this one🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. That’s so cute a post ! Thanks for the kind mention🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. You write great poetry and your sketch of a squirrel is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I love squirrels! They’re such entertaining creatures to watch. I enjoy observing the constant quarrels between the squirrels and the neighborhood cats. So far the squirrels are winning😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. I love to read stories about animals helping other animals. It happens more often than we realize and proves that animals do have a heart and soul.

    Like

    Reply
  6. squirrels have a huge fan following and they are absolutely worth it! terrific sketch Indira!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

