RSS Feed

The Daily Post- Critical Eye

Posted on

Critical Eye

Write about the subject you usually blog about as if you were a music critic.

I loved music since childhood , any type of music. Classical, semi classical, filmy,non filmy, gazels, kavvali,  you name it and I love it. Only it has to be soft and melodious to my ears. I find singers, musicians and composers job very difficult. I can never do any of this job in my this life time so how can  i become a music critic without having knowledge of  every aspect music.

But, yes I can understand lyrics fully.

So if by any chance I have to become music critic I would choose the  lyrics as  my subject of criticism . especially Hindi film’s lyrics. Nowadays so many raunchy songs, some with meaningless words, some with slang has captured the market. They give these words a catchy tune, fine beats fit for dancing as they become hit.

One thing also surprises me a song is good if the lyrics are good or its music is good. They should be complementary to each other. What matters more?

Otherwise how come a song like,

“Why This Kolaveri Di”

yo boys i am singing song
soup song
flop song
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
rhythm correct
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
maintain please
why this kolaveri..di

distance la moon-u moon-u
moon-u color-u white-u
white background night-u nigth-u
night-u color-u black-u

why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di

white skin-u girl-u girl-u
girl-u heart-u black-u
eyes-u eyes-u meet-u meet-u
my future dark

why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di

maama notes eduthuko
apdiye kaila snacks eduthuko
pa pa paan pa pa paan pa pa paa pa pa paan
sariya vaasi
super maama ready
ready 1 2 3 4

whaa wat a change over maama

ok maama now tune change-u

kaila glass
only english..

hand la glass
glass la scotch
eyes-u full-aa tear-u
empty life-u
girl-u come-u
life reverse gear-u
lovvu lovvu
oh my lovvu
you showed me bouv-u
cow-u cow-u holi cow-u
i want u hear now-u
god i m dying now-u
she is happy how-u

this song for soup boys-u
we dont have choice-u

why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di
why this kolaveri kolaveri kolaveri di

can become a super duper hit song of the year.

I believe lyrics of any song should be meaningful, delightful and inspiring.

There are many item songs with double meaning  are clouding the market.

Where are those melodious, meaningful,inspiring songs which use to take the story forward?

There is no dearth of poets like,  Neeraj, Pandit pradeep, Haivanshrai bachchan , Shailendra, Javed Akhata, Gulzar Prasoon Joshi, Irshad Kamil ……Ican give thousands of name here. 

Writers also mostly follow the trend of market and not the content. Jo bikta hai wo chalta hai. At the end of the day everyone wants to earn money. So until unless listener’s taste develops this trend will go on and my critics job will be successful as I’ll have lot more song to criticize.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

I would love to hear from you

