RSS Feed

Enchant Your Everyday: A Month of Loving the World

Posted on
Enchant Your Everyday: A Month of Loving the World

7th Feb- Today’s word is 

Temperance.

Temperance to me means a real strong iron will or self-control. With this type of self-control one can win over his obsessions of not only alcohol but other vices too.

It surprises me when I see people going to off limit to get right fuel for their cars, bikes etc. but when it comes to their body, they gladly, without thinking or hesitation put any thing into it. Be it alcohol, fatty, unhygienic and spicy foods. They don’t love themselves actually.

Temperance is one quality with which you can control any obsession or vices you have. It seems difficult but is not impossible.

I have seen people spoil not only own but their family by too much drinking. They just need an excuse t drink. If they are sorry they drink, if they are happy they drink to celebrate.

I’m like John Burns, who says,

I neither drink nor smoke, because my schoolmaster impressed upon me three cardinal virtues; cleanliness in person, cleanliness in mind; temperance.” 

 

” Temperance is moderation in the things that are good and total abstinence from the things that are foul.”

Frances E. Willard

I also believe that,

” There are no better cosmetics than a severe temperance and purity, modesty and humility, a gracious temper and calmness of spirit; and there is no true beauty without the signatures of these graces in the very countenance.

‘ I love to drink, pure water.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

4 responses »

  1. Love the photo, and yes water is the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Thank you. Temperance, in ancient Greek philosophy, was one of the basic virtues: sophrosyne.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

