RSS Feed

The Daily Post- Say Your Name

Posted on

The Daily Post- Say Your Name– Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My father was ardent follower of Late prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Indira was his daughter’s name.So he named me Indira. He might have had some aspirations that I too will become someone like Indira Gandhi. Joking.

My father never did thrust his dreams on his children. He advised us to do whatever we like but with full conviction and our  give it our 100 %.

I assume here that probably everyone knows about India’s only female Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.She was a central figure of the Indian National Congress.

Indira Gandhi was India’s third prime minister, serving from 1966 until 1984, when her life ended in assassination. She was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru, India’s first prime minister.

I think there is no story behind my name except my father liked this name too much.

There is no chance change it for anything as this has become my identity , reminds me of my father and I love when all my virtual friends address me with it.

pencil sketch by Indira

pencil sketch by Indira

 

 

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

12 responses »

  1. Yours is a lovely name. It’s beautiful. Thanks fro sharing the story behind your name with us.
    Here’s the story behind my name – http://happinessandfood.com/whatsinaname/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. It is a lovely name and a lovely story to go with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Lovely name and lovely story.
    And you sketched it- hats off🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I wondered when I first followed your blog if you were named after Indira Gandhi.
    It’s a beauitful, unique and strong name. I’ve always liked names that are uncommon.
    You wear it well. I like the fact that it reminds you of your father. A very special memory
    for you, you are very fortunate.
    Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

