RSS Feed

The Daily Post- Smooth

Posted on

The Daily Post- Smooth

Serves me right to get cheated away by smooth talks.

Not once but many times by a friend or a salesman or a worker.

I always promise not to get carried away by anyone’s smooth talk but they always take a different approach and I am fooled.

This time it was a man taking house repair jobs. Their was a seepage in a closet. We saw an ad in a news paper and called him.

He was decent looking, said he is an ex army man ( my son being a Navy officer, we have a soft corner for all military persons). He said since we are like his parents he will do it nicely in our budget and we are not to be bothered. He asked money in advance. There was no question of suspicion so we parted with the sum. He gave us his office address and phone number.

When even after one week he did not show up, we phoned him. He said his son fractured leg in an accident and he was busy in hospital but not to worry he will complete the job as soon as possible.

After one month no show then we got worried. to every phone call he  will give one excuse or other, then stopped taking our calls. We contacted his office, one lady told us that he used to work there but now they don’t know about him.

Our neighbors blamed us for giving money before getting work done. They were absolutely right.

After getting cheated for so many times I think I’m getting wise. Now no one can con me with smooth talks .Or so I think?

About Indira

I knew all along that life is about, love, compassion, compatibility and friendship, but now I have discovered that life is also about sharing thought, encouraging others and getting encouraged. So here I am with my blogs about life, friendship, love, and whatever life has taught me.

4 responses »

  1. boy! I have exactly the opposite luck, though vendors and salesmen and shopkeeper cheat me ruthlessly but these people never do, I often have dumbly handed them over money without counting😦 they were always honest to me! guess people like you and me never learn!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • So true dear but sometimes I have met honest people also and that compensates. Its true we will never learn.

      On Mon, Jun 6, 2016 at 12:15 PM, Indira's Blog wrote:

      >

      Like

      Reply
  2. A similar thing happened to my neighbour, smooth talkers are really smooth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you

